This is my newest project and my first attempt at a sculpture that has an obvious self-similar pattern, inherent to the structure of fractals. It is quite complex and should be very tedious to put together. Right now I am still working on the Blender model and refining the flattened image. I plan to use two colors of paper, black and white.

The idea for the model comes from the intricate fractal structures found in sea shells.   The spirals are formed from one tube section, which is copied many times at a increasingly  smaller scale.  All the spirals form a larger spiral, thus suggesting self -similarity  which is the underlying structure of fractals. Because of the limitations of time and materials, I can only make models that display a very simple representation of fractals.  In this case one large spiral made of smaller ones.

Here is a Blender screenshot.  The UV editor is on the right and the actual model with seams (in orange) is on the left.

Here is a Blender screenshot. The UV editor is on the right and the actual model with seams (in orange) is on the left.

I made it reflective, but obviously the real model will be matte

I made the render reflective, but obviously the real paper model will be matte

